Understanding user rights

Some of the features described in this online help system may not be available to you. This is because you must be granted certain user rights to perform certain tasks associated with a project or library. For example, you must have project Delete rights to delete a project, and library Write rights to modify the attributes of an element in a library.

You may also have different rights for projects than for libraries. For example, you may be granted project Delete rights so that you can delete any project, but you may not be given library Delete rights to delete libraries. This is useful when, for example, you want anyone to be able to create their own project and add and delete elements from that project, but you only want a library administrator to be able to add and delete elements from libraries.

User rights are assigned when your user account is set up and can be updated by authorized personnel whenever required.

To find out what rights are assigned to you, when logged on through a Web browser, click the P in the upper-right corner of the toolbar. (You can view your user rights only when using a Web browser. You cannot view your user rights using Synapse Desktop.) Under User Rights, click the Jobs, Projects, or Libraries tab to view your rights specifically for jobs, projects, or libraries.

The following table describes the user rights that you require in order to perform certain tasks, and what you can do if you don't have those rights. Note that the table only describes user rights for projects and libraries. For information about jobs user rights, see your Synapse InSite online help.

If You Have This Right...

You Can...

Project - View

  • See the list of existing projects

  • Open specific projects

Project - Write

  • Create projects

  • Create folders within a project

  • Upload elements to a project

  • Move elements and folders within a project or between projects (Note that you can only move elements and folders from a project to a library if you also have Library - Write rights.)

  • Copy elements and folders within a project or between projects (Note that you can only copy elements and folders from a project to a library if you also have Library - Write rights.)

  • Rename elements and folders in a project

  • Modify the attributes of an element in a project (If you do not have Project - Write rights, you can still view the element's attributes but not modify them.)

Project - Delete

  • Delete projects

  • Delete elements and folders from a project

Project - Download Originals

  • Download the original high-resolution version of an element from a project

If you do not have Project - Download Originals rights, you can still download a low-resolution version of the element.

Library - View

  • See the list of existing libraries

  • Open specific libraries

Library - Write

  • Create libraries

  • Create folders within a library

  • Upload elements to a library

  • Move elements and folders within a library or between libraries (Note that you can only move elements and folders from a library to a project if you also have Project - Write rights.)

  • Copy elements and folders within a library or between libraries (Note that you can only copy elements and folders from a library to a project if you also have Project - Write rights.)

  • Rename elements and folders in a library

  • Modify the attributes of an element in a library (If you do not have Library - Write rights, you can still view the element's attributes but not modify them.)

Library - Delete

  • Delete libraries

  • Delete elements and folders from a library

Library - Download Originals

  • Download the original high-resolution version of an element from a library

If you do not have Library - Download Originals rights, you can still download a low-resolution version of the element.