![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
If you are accessing projects and libraries through Synapse Desktop, there are a few procedures that you can take advantage of to manage Synapse Desktop's behavior and performance.
Synapse Desktop automatically refreshes its display with updated information from the server at a frequency that you specify. Refreshing the display enables you to see any changes made by others since the last refresh. You specify the refresh frequency using the Auto Refresh option. The default frequency is once a minute. However, refreshing Synapse Desktop requires significant bandwidth. If you have a high-speed connection, you can leave the refresh frequency as the default. If you have a very low-speed connection, or it is not important for you to see recent changes made by other users, you may want to decrease the frequency at which Synapse Desktop is automatically refreshed, or disable the automatic refresh option so that Synapse Desktop is only refreshed when you manually select View > Refresh All.
As described in the Synapse EyeMedia Quick Start Guide, you typically set the refresh frequency the first time you log on to Synapse Desktop. However, you can change the refresh frequency after the first time you log on to Synapse Desktop—for example, if you find that frequent refreshing is slowing down Synapse Desktop's performance.
By default, when you double-click an element in Synapse Desktop, the element opens in Smart Review. However, you can modify this behavior, if desired, to open a double-clicked element in its native software or to open a low-resolution version of the element in Preview.
When using a Web browser, you can have only one window open at a time for a single account. However, when using Synapse Desktop, you can open multiple windows. This enables you to drag files from a project that is open in one window to a library that is open in another window, or vice versa. You can open multiple Synapse Desktop windows using either a single account or multiple accounts.
Note: You can copy files between Synapse Desktop windows only when both windows are connected to the same Synapse EyeMedia server. To copy files between different servers, you must download the files to your computer using a Synapse Desktop window connected to one server, and then upload the files to the other server using a Synapse Desktop window connect to that server.
Whenever you view the elements in a project or library, Synapse Desktop saves copies of the elements' thumbnail images to a cache folder on your local workstation, to speed up loading of the images the next time you open the project or library. You may want to clear the cache to free up disk space, or to ensure that you are seeing the latest thumbnail images rather than older, cached versions. The next time you view the contents of a project or library, any thumbnail images for the contained elements are re-cached in the clean cache folder.
If you are experiencing problems with Synapse Desktop, you may try resetting Synapse Desktop. In addition to clearing the cache, resetting Synapse Desktop also resets all preferences settings to their defaults, removes any user accounts added to Synapse Desktop on the local workstation, clears any in-progress uploads and downloads, deletes any Synapse Desktop log files on the local workstation, and restarts Synapse Desktop. Essentially, Synapse Desktop is reset to the state that it was in immediately following installation.