Home | Contact Us | Submit Troubleshooting Info | Search | Help


    Output | Software Solutions | Proofing | Color, Screening and Calibration | Scanning | Digital Photography | Consumables | POS


Setting registration coordinates on ThermoFlex Narrow Magnetic Drum

DRAFT


Product

 
  • ThermoFlex® Narrow Magnetic
  • Brisque version 5.0 with Flexo patch
  • Brisque version 5.1

Background

 

You can load four plates at the same time on the ThermoFlex Narrow Magnetic Drum platesetter. However, the positions of the registration pin holes are not always exact, relative to each other. To overcome this problem, you can set coordinates in the workflow application to overcome the discrepancies.

Registration on the ThermoFlex Narrow Magnetic Drum is image to punch. This procedure describes how to set the XY mark coordinates that determine the separation start area for up to four plates.


Procedure

 

Before you start, confirm that the width and height start image areas are correctly configured.

Note: The coarse measurements in these procedures can be taken with a ruler.

Finding the coordinates for plate A
  1. Load a plate.
  2. On the X axis, measure the following:
    • Edge of drum to edge of plate (x1)
    • Edge of plate to edge of punch hole (x2)
  3. On the Y axis, measure the following:
    • Scribe line to leading edge of plate (y1)
    • Edge of plate to edge of punch hole (y2)
  4. Create a layout:
    1. In Brisque, in Preview environment, select File>New Imposition.
    2. In the Layout Setup dialog box, in the Preset Sizes area, select Custom.
    3. In the Sheet Size (maximum image allowed) area, in both of the boxes, type a value that is lower than the size of plate A and click OK.
    4. In the Inventory palette, select the Marks tab, click the arrow to the right of this tab, and select Add.
    5. In the Plates Marks dialog box, type the mark coordinates, as follows, and click OK.
      • X coordinate = the sum of the two measurements that you obtained in step 2 plus the offset of the press format.
      • Y coordinate = the sum of the two measurements that you obtained in step 3 plus the offset of the press format.
    6. Select File>Save As, and save the layout in the required folder location. The layout is created in the imposition job.
  5. In Brisque, build a grid:
    1. Select Service>Create a File.
    2. In the Create a File dialog box, set the following parameters:
      Size 10 mm
      Line thickness 0.1 mm
      File height 200
      File width 250
      File H res 100 dpm
      File W res 100 dpm
    3. Click Run.
  6. Create a template:
    1. In the Brisque environment, select View>Workflow Palette.
    2. In the Workflow dialog box, double-click the Arrange folder.
    3. In the Arrange Parameter dialog box, in the Arrange list, select Predefined Layout.
    4. In the Select a Layout box, select the layout that you created in step 4, and click the Choose button.
    5. In the blank area next to the Arrange icon, right-click and select the Plate Expose icon (or Flexo icon for version 5.1).
    6. In the Plate Expose dialog box, click the Plate Expose/Flexo icon, and set all the required parameter values.
    7. In the Plate Exp Parameters dialog box, select the Layout tab.
    8. In the Rotate List, select Rotate 90.
    9. Click Save as and save the template.
  7. Expose the grid file using the template that you created in step 6.
    1. In Brisque, select View>Workflow Palette.
    2. In Workflow, open the template that you created in step 6.
    3. Select File>New File Browser and select the grid that you created in step 5.
    4. Drag and drop the grid to the template and click Submit.

Note: If the results are not satisfactory, it indicates that the width/height image start area is not properly calibrated.

Finding the coordinates for plate B
  1. Load the same plate at the plate B position.
  2. In Brisque, create a new layout for plate B as you did for the plate A in step 4 above.
    • Around the drum—plate A coordinate + 300 microns
    • Along the drum—plate A coordinate + the distance between the two pin registration holes on the drum + 300 microns
    Note: Adding 300 microns ensures that the two lines of the grid will not be imposed one on top of the other in the second exposure, so that you can measure the distance between them.
  3. Expose the grid file with the second layout.
Adjusting the plate B coordinates
  1. In each corner of the plate, measure the difference between the grid lines on the x and the y axis (eight measurements).

    Note: Remember to take into consideration the width of the grid lines (0.1 mm).
  2. Calculate the average of the difference between the four x axis coordinates, and the average of the difference between the four y axis coordinates.
  3. In Brisque, adjust the layout for plate B:
    • Around the Drum—increase or decrease the y axis coordinate by the average difference of the four y axis coordinates that you calculated in step 2.
    • Along the Drum—increase or decrease the X axis coordinate by the average difference of the four x axis coordinates that you calculated in step 2.
    Note: Never change the coordinates of plate 1; plate 1 is the reference.
  4. Expose another grid with the first layout and the adjusted second layout, and check to confirm that the results are accurate.
Finding the coordinates for plate C
  1. Using a new plate, expose the grid file with the layout that you created for plate A.
  2. Load the same plate at the plate C position.
  3. In Brisque, create a new layout for plate C as you did for plates A and B.
    • Around the drum—plate A coordinate + distance between the two pin registration holes on the drum + 300 microns
    • Along the drum—plate A coordinate + 300 microns
  4. Expose the grid file with the third layout.
  5. Adjust the plate C coordinates by following the procedure for adjusting the plate B coordinates.
Finding the coordinates for plate D

To find the plate D coordinates, follow the procedure for finding the plate C coordinates, with the following differences:

  • Around the drum—plate A coordinate + the distance between the two pin registration holes on the drum + 300 microns
  • Along the drum—plate A coordinate + the distance between the two pin registration holes on the drum + 300 microns
Checking the final coordinates
  1. On a new plate, create a grid with all four layouts, but do not add the 300 microns.
  2. Examine the results. The grid lines should be imposed upon each other. They should be a bit thicker than 0.1 mm, but should not have more than a 50-micron tolerance.

Technical contact(s)
 

Content owner: Viki Arviv and Shlomi Aloya
See the Escalation page for escalation contacts.

Date submitted
 

28 Oct 2004


    Copyright © 2005 Creo Inc. All rights reserved. Confidential. Back to top.