Home | Contact Us | Submit Troubleshooting Info | Search | Help


    Output | Software Solutions | Proofing | Color, Screening and Calibration | Scanning | Digital Photography | Consumables | POS


Remakes of read-only TIFF jobs fail in Print Console 2.0 and 2.1


Product

 
  • Print Console 2.1.1.24
  • Print Console 2.0.2.7

Platform

 

Intel

Operating system

 

Windows 2000


Symptoms

 

When you submit a read-only TIFF file (for example, joba.tif) to Print Console by dropping it in the hot folder, if the job processes correctly, Print Console moves the finished job to the Done folder.

If you submit a new version of joba.tif, the job still processes correctly, but the finished job does not replace the older version in the Done folder. The following happens:

  • PC 2.0.2.7 - the new file is deleted after imaging
  • PC 2.1.1.24 - the new file is put into the Working folder after imaging

If you try to remake joba.tif, Print Console uses the old version of the file in the Done folder.


Cause

 

This is a known problem in Print Console 2.0.2.7 and 2.1.1. It has been fixed in version 2.2.1. where the new file replaces the old file in the Done folder after imaging.


Solution

 

To work around this problem, ensure that all submitted TIFF jobs are not read-only before dropping them in the hot folder.

To check a job’s file properties:

  1. In Windows Explorer, navigate to the folder that contains the TIFF job.
  2. Right-click the TIFF file. From the right-click menu, select Properties.
  3. In the General tab, ensure that the Read-only check box in the Attributes section is cleared.
  4. Click OK.

Technical contact(s)
 

José Delgado

Submitted by
 

Craig Wilson

Date submitted
 

21 Nov 2001


    Copyright © 2005 Creo Inc. All rights reserved. Confidential. Back to top.