Home | Contact Us | Submit Troubleshooting Info | Search | Help


    Output | Software Solutions | Proofing | Color, Screening and Calibration | Scanning | Digital Photography | Consumables | POS


MAC - SciNet (PTOP)
Hardware Installation & Configuration



LANC Board Installation

Follow this procedure to install the LANC/Macintosh expansion card:

  1. Switch off your computer and all other devices.
  2. For further safety, unplug your computer's power cord.
  3. Remove the computer lid.
  4. Choose the expansion slot you wish to use, and remove the metal shield protecting the slot opening.
    You can use any free slot.
  5. Push out the plastic cover.
    Use a blunt object such as your thumb or the eraser end of a pencil.
  6. Remove the card carefully from its protective antistatic bag.
  7. Slide the card down into the slot.
    Align the connector on the bottom of the card, and push the card down firmly to make a good connection.
  8. Attach the cables to their connectors.
    Attach the Ethernet transceiver cable (or the external transceiver with twisted pair cable) to the 15-pin connector. Attach the Cheapernet cable to the BNC connector.
  9. If you wish to check that the expansion card is inserted and connected correctly, check the card's LEDs.
    To check the LEDs, turn on the computer and watch for the following
  • After the computer is switched on, the DGN (diagnostics) LED should light for approximately 20 seconds and the other LEDs should blink occasionally.
  • When the DGN LED goes off, the ETR(Ethernet) or CPR (Cheapernet) LED will light, according to the type or line connected to the card.If you are using the Ethernet transceiver cable or an external transceiver the ETR LED will be lit.
  1. Close the computer's lid.

LANC Board Diagnostics

Performing User Diagnostics with TestLANC

The Diagnostic program tests:

  • The LANC board.
  • The network to which the board is connected.

Important: Before using the diagnostic program, exit from any SciNet/Lan application. After diagnostic testing, reboot before entering any SciNet/Lan application.

To enter the diagnostics program, double click the Test LANC icon. This is located together with your SciNet files. The LANC Verification Test window is displayed.

Click Start to begin testing. A sequence of independent checking routines is activated.

Upon completion of testing, the results are displayed as either Pass or Fail.

If you receive a fail result for the board test, notify your engineer.

The most common reasons are the following:

  • The LANC board is faulty.
  • The LANC board is not inserted correctly.

If the network test fails, check all connections throughout the network.

The table below describes the buttons in the LANC Verification Test window.

LANC VERIFICATION TEST BUTTONS
Button Description
Start Begins testing all components.
Continue Continues testing following pause.
Save Results Writes results to text file for service engineer.
Help Displays help screen.
Quit Exits from the window.

To stop the test, press the period (.) key as you hold down the Command key. The testing pauses at the end of the current checking routine. You can restart the sequence either of these ways:

  • Click Start, which begins the whole sequence again,
  • Click Continue, which continues testing at the point testing stopped.

Performing Engineer Diagnostics with DiagLANC

Important: Before using the diagnostic program, exit from any SciNet/Lan application. After diagnostic testing, reboot before entering any SciNet/Lan application.

The SciNet/LAN diagnostic program tests and displays the status of all board hardware and communication functions.

  • "Pass" result indicates that the board is functioning correctly;
  • "Fail" indicates that at least one of the diagnostic tests has failed.

Opening the Diagnostic Test Program

To begin the diagnostic program, double click the DiagLANC icon. The startup (splash) screen appears for a few seconds.
Once the diagnostic program has booted, the Diagnostics Tree window opens.


Using the Diagnostics Tree

The diagnostic program consists of sets of tests, organized in hierarchical groups.

  • Major tests appear in capital letters (for example, MEMORIES), and have a triangular indicator next to their name.
    To show the sub-tests, open the test group by clicking the triangular indicator. It changes direction, and sub-tests appear.
    To hide the sub-tests, click the triangular indicator once more. It returns to its previous direction, and all sub-tests disappear.
  • Single sub-tests are written in lower case letters (for example, "verify"), and have an icon next to their name.

To run the entire diagnostics program

  1. Click the icon once.
    The font changes to bold.
  2. Choose the Run command from the Batch menu to start the tests.
    Running the entire diagnostic program takes approximately 15 minutes.
    During testing, an arrow appears next to the test currently being performed. A Timer is displayed in the window, showing the maximum/limited time allotted for each test.
    The status of individual tests is continuously compiled. This information is not shown by default. In order to view this data, open the Preferences dialog box, and select Log Results.
    After completing each test, the program displays the test resuit Pass or Fail in the Diagnostics Tree window.

To run a group of tests (a "batch ")

  1. Select the tests to be performed by clicking on the name (for example, MEMORIES).
    The font changes to bold. If the test chosen is a major test, then all the sub-groups and single sub-tests will also change to bold.
  2. Choose the Run command from the Batch menu.
    As each test finishes, the font returns to the default, and the result appears next to the test's name in the diagnostics tree window.

To run a single test:

  • Click on the icon of the test you wish to run (for example, verify)
    The test is executed, and the result (Pass or Fail) appears next to the name in the diagnostics tree window.

To abort the diagnostic program

  • Press the period (.) key as you hold down the Command key.
    The program quits upon completion of the present test, and does not begin the next test.

The DiagLANC Menu Bar

File The File menu contains a command to exit the program.
  Quit Diag
Exits from the diagnostics program.
Edit The Edit menu contains commands to find diagnostic tests and set preferences.
  Find
Finds a particular test.
  1. Choose Find from the Edit menu. A dialog box opens.
  2. Enter the approximate name of the test and click Find.
    The program finds the first instance of the name, and displays it in bold in the Diagnostics Tree window.
  Find Next
If the command Find did not find the test you were wanted, choose Find Next. The program looks for the next instance of the name, and displays it in bold, in the Diagnostics Tree window. Continue choosing Find Next until you reach the desired test.
  Preferences
The Preferences dialog box is used by the Scitex factory engineers to set various diagnostic program defaults that will affect how the program runs.
The only options which the Scitex service engineer may need to select are Loop on Test, Stop on Fail, Log Results and the Batch defaults. Clock is selected by default.
Window The Wlndow menu opens or brings to the top several different windows: Diagnostics Tree, Console, Error Buffer.
  Diagnostics Tree
Opens the Diagnostic Tree window.
  Console
Opens the Console window, which displays the status of individual tests. The Console window remains open on the desktop while the diagnostic program is open.
  Error Buffer
Opens the Error Buffer window. Should a test fail, either when the entire diagnostic program is running, or when selected diagnostic tests are running, the program stores the error data in an error buffer.
Batch The Batch menu lets you save and open batches of tests, get time information on a test, and run tests.
  Record Batch
This option is very useful if you want to test various components, as each test does not have to be selected separately. The batch of tests is saved in a file which can be called with the Open Batch command. To use the Record Batch command:
  1. Select the tests which you wish to run together.
  2. Choose Record Batch from the Batch menu.
    A directory dialog box opens.
  3. Choose a name and location for the file.

Select the folder where you want to save the batch file, and enter a file name in the text box.

  Open Batch
Use this option to run a batch of tests which has been previously saved to a file.
  1. In the Preferences dialog, choose Local default in the Batches box.
    Choose Preferences from the Edit menu. In the dialog that appears, choose Local default from the Batches box. and click OK.
  2. In the Open Batch dialog, choose a batch file.
    Choose Open Batch from the Batch menu. In the directory dialog that appears, select a batch file, and click Open.
    The application opens a Diagnostics Tree window.
  3. In the Diagnostics Tree window, choose the tests to run.
    Click on the name of the major group or sub-group of the tests you wish to run. If the batch file contains tests from more than one group, click LANC.
    The tests now appear in bold.
  4. Choose Run from the Batch menu.
  Time Info
Shows the maximum, limited time given to each test. If the test does not finish at the end of the time allotted to it, a Time Out message appears. The time information also appears in the diagnostics tree window, next to the test.
  Run
Executes tests.
Help The Help menu displays on-line help for the application.
  Diag System...
Opens a Help window. Highlight the desired topic and click Help, or double-click the topic. A text box opens with the explanation.
  Diag Windows
Displays context-sensitive help with specific information. The pointer changes to a question mark. Move the pointer over the screen. A message appears in a message box explaining the function of whichever item the pointer is on

 


    Copyright © 2005 Creo Inc. All rights reserved. Confidential. Back to top.