Symptoms |
|
This troubleshooting item describes how to create dies in Arden Impact for use in Pandora.
Pandora die file requirements: To make best use of Pandoras capabilities, the die file must satisfy several requirements.
To position and rotate artwork to a die station: *Define die stations in blocks rather than as top-level entities *Block placements specify the rotation
To automatically generate bleed paths: *Define die cuts as a cut line type *Make the cut outline continuous (no gaps) *Do not create the cut outline with hanging cut lines (the outline must be continuous with each line touching the next) Note: Draw cuts between die stations as top-level entities so they do not interfere with bleed path extraction. *Do not define crease, score, and other non-cuts as cut lines
File formats: Pandora can import DXF, CFF2, and DDES2 files. If you use Impact, CFF2 is the best file format to use. Pandora cannot create an automatic bleed path unless it finds cut lines in the die. The DXF format does not support line types, and Impact does not write standard line types in DDES2.
|
Solution |
|
In Impact, perform the following steps to create dies for use in Pandora.
Create the single-out design This design is used both to create the artwork and to create the multiple-out design. Note: Pandora utilizes the die line that the designer puts in the artwork to position the artwork to the multiple-out die. For best results, the orientation of the artwork should be the same as the one-out design.
1. Start the drawing with a one-up layer.
2. Draw the single-out die on the one-up layer. Draw the die heads up.
3. Specify all the lines as the correct line type in the Palette toolbar box (cuts as cut, etc.).
4. From the Edit menu, choose Select > Select All.
5. From the Block menu, choose New.
6. Change the settings as required, then click OK.
7. Export the file as DXF or EPS.
Create the multiple-out design: This design is used for manufacturing the die and for imposing the artwork in Pandora. First you create a multi-up layer, then the one-up layer is inserted into the multiple-up layer as a block. Creating a die in this manner ensures that it can be easily revised in the future. Any edits made in the one-up layer are automatically applied to every placement in the multi-up layer.
Objects such as labels, dimension lines, and cut lines between die stations are called top-level entities. These are drawn on the multi-up layer and are visible in Pandora, but they do not affect snap-to-die or automatic bleed path extraction. In Pandora 2.0 and earlier versions, top-level entities are included in the die bounds.
Set the origin in the one-up layer: 1. From the Block menu, choose Move Block Origin.
2. Select a point to use for positioning the block when inserting the one-up layer into the multi-up layer.
Create a multi-up layer: 1. From the File menu, choose New > Drawing Layer.
2. In the Type box, select multi-up.
3. Specify the dimensions, then click OK.
To create each die station, insert, position, and rotate the one-up block: 1. From the Block menu, choose Insert Drawing Layers.
2. In the toolbar, specify the one-up layer for Block name, and specify the rotation in the Rotate box.
3. Draw the top-level entities.
Export the CFF2 file for Pandora: 1. From the View menu, choose Visibility.
2. Disable all line types except Cut, Crease, Perf, and Score. Disabling the other line types makes it easier to position the die in Pandora.
3. From the File menu, choose Export > Export.
4. Select CFF2, then click Save. Note: Do not explode block and symbols.
5. Select the Use Visibility Settings check box.
6. Click Export.
You now have a die that you can use in Pandora.
|