Home | Contact Us | Submit Troubleshooting Info | Search | Help


    Output | Software Solutions | Proofing | Color, Screening and Calibration | Scanning | Digital Photography | Consumables | POS


Prinergy 2.2.1.0 installer removes all older version restore information during upgrade


Product

  Prinergy Connect 2.1 ; Prinergy Direct 2.1 ; Prinergy Access 2.1

Platform

 

Operating system

 


Error

 


Symptoms

 

Patch restore information is retained in the system and temp drive. After a Prinergy system is running correctly with the latest installed version, it is not necessary to retain older restore information (which takes up a large amount of storage space).


Cause

  After installing a new patch, the PPU retains restore information on the system drive D:\Prinergy2.0.4\CreoAraxi\Support\patches\installed_Prinergy and temp drive E:\PrinergyUpdates\RestoreInformation. This information is needed when the system has to be rolled back to an older version.

NOTE: If you delete either of the folders, you won't be able to roll back to an older version.


Solution

 

The Prinergy 2.2.1.0 installer removes the Prinergy 1.1, 2.0.4.x, 2.0.5.x, and 2.0.6.x restore information and removes the older client installers on E:\Installers during the upgrade to Prinergy 2.2.1.

The restore information is retained in two places:

1. D:\Prinergy2.0.4\CreoAraxi\Support\patches\installed_Prinergy

2. E:PrinergyUpdates\RestoreInformation:

The first location contains uninstall restore stacks for major updates and minor updates. In general, the actual files are also backed up in the first location. For major updates, the actual backup files will be stored outside of the Prinergy folder ( in E:PrinergyUpdates\RestoreInformation).

In addition to removing these two folders, the 2.2 (and 2.2.1) major updates also remove any old client installers residing in E:\Installers.

NOTE : Whenever you decide to delete the old uninstall information of a major update, it's these three places that should be looked after. Also, the auto cleanup removes the "contents" of the ...\installed_Prinergy\{2.0.x.x}\uninstall folder not the ...\installed_Prinergy\{2.0.x.x} folder itself. This allows us to still keep the install around while getting rid of the bulky part.

Besides, there have been many sites that the full copies of major and minor update files (i.e. the *.ppu files) in subfolders within the Prinergy system folder. This could really add up to gigabytes of unneeded files. Unlike the uninstall data, these files will not be cleaned up by the major 2.2 update.

However, it would be a good practice to stop storing copies of the *.ppu files on the system, and also remove them when ever we get across them, and if possible communicate this to others. The recommended location for temporarily storing *.ppu files is one of the Jobs volumes.

Permanent fix:


See also

 


Keywords

 

install, ppu


Technical contact(s)
 

Amy Chan

Submitted by
 

Amy Chan

Date submitted
 

14 Aug 2003


    Copyright © 2005 Creo Inc. All rights reserved. Confidential. Back to top.