Home | Contact Us | Submit Troubleshooting Info | Search | Help


    Output | Software Solutions | Proofing | Color, Screening and Calibration | Scanning | Digital Photography | Consumables | POS


Ripro Backup (Legato) TIC - Installation Guide

Previous Page | ToC | Next Page

Networker Installation and Configuration
Labelling the Media

Relabeling a volume destroys all records of its contents under the old label.

In case of a system crash and a new Legato installation is performed, new ecassettes must be labeled differently from already used cassettes, those labeled before the crash.

DLT Libraries

The default label template is used to label backup volumes loaded in the jukebox.

  1. To open the Jukebox Labeling dialog box, verify that the device in the Devices text field is highlighted and then select the Label speedbar button.
  2. The Jukebox Labeling dialog box opens and displays the name of the NetWorker server and the pathname previously selected for the designated jukebox device.
  3. The Starting with text field displays the server label and number.
  4. First and Last slots display the range of slots containing backup volumes to be labeled, according to the label template selected in the Pools window (default).
  5. Click OK to begin labeling.

During the labeling process, a progress message appears in the dialog box. The time duration varies according to the drive speed.

At the end a notice appears:

Finished Labeling Volumes

  1. Select Cancel to close this dialog window.

  1. To verify the labeling, select the Mount button from the speedbar.

The Jukebox Mounting dialog window opens displaying the labeled cartridges including the cleaning cartridge (and number of cleaning periods left before replacement).

If the cartridges have been used previously by other software, the contents must be erased before use with NetWorker.

To erase the cartridge contents:

  1. Use NwAdmin to load cartridge into drive.
  2. Type mt -f /dev/rmt1 weof and press Enter.

Repeat this process on all used cartridges.

Single Cartridge Magnetic Tape (DLT4000 or 7000)

To use the backup volume for recovering or backing up files, it must first be labeled and mounted.

  1. Highlight the backup device in the NetWorker Administrator window.
  2. Click the Label button on the speedbar.

The Label dialog window is displayed.

“Verifying media label...” appears in the Volume Name text field. Wait for this message to disappear.

The Volume name text entry field displays the name of the volume currently mounted in the drive, if it is named, otherwise it remains blank.

  1. Check Default for Pool.
  2. If necessary, delete the contents and type in a new name for this volume.
  3. Check Mount after labeling if you do not intend to label more media and you intend to use this media for next backup.
  4. Click OK after each volume is labeled and/or mounted.
  5. Click Cancel to cancel the operation.

This is the end of the Installation procedure. Continue with Customizing Setup for customization instructions.

Previous Page | ToC | Next Page


    Copyright © 2005 Creo Inc. All rights reserved. Confidential. Back to top.