Home | Contact Us | Submit Troubleshooting Info | Search | Help


    Output | Software Solutions | Proofing | Color, Screening and Calibration | Scanning | Digital Photography | Consumables | POS


Ripro Backup (Legato) TIC - Installation Guide

Previous Page | ToC | Next Page

Networker Installation and Configuration
Defining a Backup Device

Changing Tape Block Size

  1. At the command prompt, type smit chgtpe and press Enter.
  2. Choose the backup device and press Enter.
  3. Select Block size and change the default value (512) to 0 (variable length).
    Change this for all remote devices for multiple drive tapes.

  1. Verify that the default values for Density Setting #1 and for Density Setting #2 are both 0.

  1. Press Enter.

Determining the Backup Media Devices

  1. Choose Media from the menu bar.
  2. Choose Devices.
  3. Choose View->Details.
  4. Delete all media devices.
  5. Press Create and verify in the Name field that the device name and path are correct, if not, select and change accordingly.
  6. Fill in the following fields:
Media Family Tape
Media Type DLT or DLT7000
Read Only No
Target Sessions 1 (per device)
Volume Default Capacity 70GB (30GB for
Jukebox Device Yes
Cleaning Required No
Cleaning Interval 2 weeks
Auto Media Management Yes
Unlabeled volume loaded? Yes
*Enabled Yes
*Write Enabled Yes

Note: Disregard error message “nwadmin error, no jukebox found”.

Note: The Enabled and Write Enabled fields appear only after Apply is clicked.

  1. Select Apply after all changes are complete.
  2. Repeat this for all media devices.
  3. Choose File -> Exit to exit NWAdmin.

Configuring a Jukebox

  1. At the prompt, type jb_config and press Enter (under /backup/bin).
    The installation script now appears and you are prompted for answers (this is an example only):
  1. Install an Autodetected SCSI Jukebox?
  2. Install a Serial Jukebox?
  3. Install an SJI Jukebox?
  4. Install an RLM Jukebox?
  5. Install an STL Silo?

What kind of Jukebox are you installing?

  1. Type 1, Install an Autodetected SCSI Jukebox and press Enter.
  2. Choose your device type.
    Installing a xxxxxxxxxx Jukebox.

Name you would like to assign for the Jukebox device?

  1. Type in jbx1 and press Enter.

Pathname of control port for the jukebox device

  1. Choose the desired SCSI port ( the one that matches the Jukebox SCSI ID).

Do you want automated cleaning support enabled [yes/no]

  1. Type Yes and press Enter to confirm.

Enter pathname of media drive.

  1. Type in /dev/rmt0.1 (in this example) and press Enter.

Note: For multiple drive Jukeboxes repeat this command for each device.

If your device has a barcode reader support, do you want barcode reader support enabled? (yes/no).

Note: Breece Hill and ATL models have barcode support.

  1. Type Yes and press Enter. (Type No for non Quantum devices.)

Do you want volume labels to match barcode labels? (yes/no).

  1. Type No and press Enter.

Note: A specific labeling is used for CreoScitex backup and Archive.

Jukebox has been added successfully

Verifying Jukebox Parameters

  1. Execute the sequence Media -> JukeBoxes-> View -> Details.
  2. At the Default cleanings text field, change the default to 20 cleanings.
  3. Select Apply after all changes are complete.
  4. Choose File and then choose Exit to return to the NetWorker Administration dialog window.

You should now enable and authorize the software. Refer to Enabling and Authorizing NetWorker.

Note: If the scheduled Archive option exists, there may later on be four (4) types of pools and labels: Backup, Backup Clone, Schedule Archive and Schedule Archive Clone.

Previous Page | ToC | Next Page


    Copyright © 2005 Creo Inc. All rights reserved. Confidential. Back to top.